Whats the Difference bet 3w and 5w LED

kukula

Enlightened
My indulgence for asking a somewhat elementary question to most of you. As you can see I am a newbie. While reading the forums I have often read about a 3w and 5w LED. Whats the difference between the two? I am thinkin that the 5w is more powerful owing to its higher wattage? And what about Luxeon? Is that a brand for a LED? Then theres Luxeon I and V. Anyway I dont have a LED light yet. My two lights are the A2 and SF M6. I am planning to get me a LED light soon, and choosing between the Gladius and U2. I know the Gladius uses 3w and the U2, 5w. I am planning to get it over the weekend thus my interest on knowing what those LED numbers mean. Thanks

Chris

jar3ds

Flashlight Enthusiast
kukula said:
My indulgence for asking a somewhat elementary question to most of you. As you can see I am a newbie. While reading the forums I have often read about a 3w and 5w LED. Whats the difference between the two? I am thinkin that the 5w is more powerful owing to its higher wattage? And what about Luxeon? Is that a brand for a LED? Then theres Luxeon I and V. Anyway I dont have a LED light yet. My two lights are the A2 and SF M6. I am planning to get me a LED light soon, and choosing between the Gladius and U2. I know the Gladius uses 3w and the U2, 5w. I am planning to get it over the weekend thus my interest on knowing what those LED numbers mean. Thanks

Chris

your going to get more throw with the gladius... the 5w's seem to spread the beam out more... the diff. between the KL3 and KL5 is that the KL3 is obviously 3 watt and has an optic to help focus the LED... the KL5 uses a reflector ...

welcome to the forums!

joema

Flashlight Enthusiast
Luxeon is a brand name of high output LEDs manufactured by Lumileds of San Jose, CA: http://www.lumileds.com/