What's the best light to start my collection?

AloneInTheDark

Newly Enlightened
The good lights I currently have include a couple of Mini-Maglites, a Mag 4D, a Photon Freedom and a Sharper Image Blue LED Rocket Light. I would like to know what the next step should be. I want to take that quantum leap to a light that makes my Mag 4D look cheap. :rock:I can't afford too much, but from what I've been reading it sounds like these new LEDs are much brighter. All suggestions welcomed.

AshA4

Banned
I'm definately not an expert or have half the knowledge of some of the members here but for starters I would suggest the ledbeam 3c www.ledbeam.com ($24.95 shipped) and the Sam's Club Element 2 pack 3AAA ($27) for starters. I have these and like them very much, even bought multiples to give away to friends and family. Good luck!

Skyclad01

Enlightened
Being a newbie myself, I may be a little underqualified here, but heres my small list of good lights to start your collection with;

Dorcy 3D Super 1 Watt (Target has them for $21.99)
River Rock 2 AAA (Target again for $9.99)
Nuwai Q3 (Amondotech.com has them for $29.99)
Fenix L1P or L2P (just over $40 each) {You can also get the non P models for about $30}
Streamlight 4AA Propolymer Luxeon ($25 or so)
Sams Club Element and/or Cyclops (They come in 2 packs for $20 - $30)

Thats my small list. But Im sure other members will suggest other good lights that I may have failed to mention here.

zespectre

Flashlight Enthusiast
Yeah, I'd pretty much have to second Skyclad01's list.
I'd also add a favorite of mine, the Gerber LX3.0 (REI.com and others)
and also the new Dorcy 1watt that runs on 1xCR123A battery (Sears and I think Brightguy has them).

Skyclad01

Enlightened
AloneInTheDark said:
I want to take that quantum leap to a light that makes my Mag 4D look cheap. :rock:I can't afford too much.