Where to start for a knife newbie? *some choices made*

LEDcandle

Flashlight Enthusiast
Update : Some choices narrowed down in post #37.

---------------------------------
I have totally ZERO knowledge about knives. Bought an old Buck 'Rambo' type 'survival knife' many years back as a kid, got it confiscated by my Mum and haven't seen it since.

I see lotsa great looking knives around but I have no idea where to start. Is there a big review site for knives, something like Flashlightreviews for lights?

Basically, I want a folding knife for use when out hiking/trekking (mebe about $30-50 for starters.. how much better and how better are the $100+ knives?) and maybe after I get into the whole knife thing, I might just collect for the sake of collecting (no!! not another hobby! :D )

I've looked around in Bladeforums but couldn't find that much (yet) that would help a total newbie. Like what to look for in knives, different types of steel etc...

Good and affordable retailer links would also be welcomed for later purchasing. Right now I am looking at ebay store "upnorthknives" as I bought a Gladius from them.

So far, I like the look of the Buck Alpha Dorado Charcoal :-
http://cgi.ebay.com/Buck-Knife-Alph...98666QQcategoryZ42577QQtcZphotoQQcmdZViewItem

and the Buck Strider 889 military :-
http://cgi.ebay.com/Buck-Strider-88...33501QQcategoryZ63792QQtcZphotoQQcmdZViewItem

although I have absolutely no idea how good they are and whether I should get some other knives as I hardly see Buck mentioned. Looks like people mostly get Benchmades, CRKTs, Spyderco and Gerber knives.

All kinds of newbie-type info/links/pictures/recommendations welcome! :)
:thanks:

Last edited:

LEDcandle

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: Where to start for a knife newbie?

Haha.. I will prepare myself.. after all, I have some "experience" from being sucked into flashlights.