Titanium bicycle frames

jtr1962

Flashaholic
I've been riding a mid-1980s vintage Raleigh since the early 1990s. The bike has served me well to date. About two and a half years ago I upgraded to a 10-speed STI system, and also added aero wheels and airless tires. Everything still works well after 4700 miles. My reason for starting this thread is I've come to the realization that the frame won't last forever. It has a fair amount of rust on it, despite the fact that I never ride in the rain. Perhaps this winter I'll strip it down and paint it. Nevertheless, I'm sure ~25,000 NYC miles have taken their toll on the frame. The frame broke near the right rear dropout about 12 years ago. My adhoc repair, which is basically using a steel plate to hold things together, has worked well ever since. Should failures occur in more stressed areas, they would be beyond my capability to repair.

I'm at the point then of considering preemptively replacing the frame before some critical failure occurs. Of the four common frame materials, I'm leaning heavily towards titanium. Here's my rationale when comparing the pros and cons:

1) Steel-probably the best all around frame material in terms of cost and performance. The primary drawback is rust, especially in places with wet, humid conditions such as NYC. In general I beat on bikes, so eventually paint will chip, and the frame will rust.

2) Aluminum-lighter than steel, impervious to rust, can be made into aero shapes. The biggest downside for me is the limited fatigue life of aluminum. Sure, aluminum frames are overengineered to account for this. Nevertheless, in a place like NYC where smooth roads are the exception, I would be very concerned riding anything with a limited fatigue life.