• You must be a Supporting Member to participate in the Candle Power Forums Marketplace.

You can become a Supporting Member.

Peak Eiger QTC Nichia 219 w/ Momentary -- checking Pupil Reflexes

EMSguy

Newly Enlightened
Hi, first post here but I've read so much from the forum I've felt like a member for years. I'm an EMT and am very interested in the Peak Eiger QTC Nichia 219 w/ a momentary and was wondering if you guys might be able to advise whether it would be a good fit for my needs. Checking pupillary reflexes would be at least 90% of my usage, with the other 10% being tissue examination or lighting up rooms/paths during night shifts. Is there a way the momentary can be adjusted to stop at a a certain brightness, so I could set full depression to only permit a max of 4 lumens or so and just use the twist head for higher? If not, does the momentary travel much before ramping up to high lumens (too high for pupils ~6+ lumens)? I was thinking perhaps I could jerry-rig a solution by inserting a rubber washer or something on the post of the momentary so it can only travel a limited amount and stop at 4 lumens if the travel is 1 mm or significant enough before getting to 10+ lumens, but if the momentary has hardly any travel before significantly ramping up that might not be a reliable solution... I basically want to be able to use the momentary w/ consistent results of low lumens for pupillary reflexes so I don't accidentally depress it too far and injure patients while making rapid assessments. The Peak Eiger looks really sweet w/ QTC and the Nichia 219 sounds perfect for medical purposes, but it's a big purchase after adding a clip and momentary and I'm hoping it will work well for what I need it for.

If you have any experience w/ the momentary--even if you don't have the Nichia 219--I'd appreciate your input very much. Thanks!

shudaizi

Newly Enlightened