L2D CE as bike light

becgary

Newly Enlightened
GDay, someone asked me to report on this when I'd some experience, so here;s the drill from the weekends race:

- Several of us used the lights as either helmet or bar lights for a 12hr MTB race, 6 hrs of which was dark.
- In short- sensational! Despite what Ive read others say, theyre bright enough (comfortably) for racing with one (pref 2) on bars (mounted using u-bolt and little plates) and one on the helmet (I just zip tied mine on- simple, light and strong).
- Reliability was my question- they take a pounding on the bars- but so far so good.
- Much brighter than my old set up (decent niterider halogen and marwi elite), and much cheaper. no wires,no batt packs on frame or in jersey.

Re the output, some might ask or comment re the comparison to HID or similar. The answer is yes others are brighter, but its moot as far as I'm concerned- this is BRIGHT ENOUGH for comfortable racing (I'm no pro but no slouch either), and you cant beat the price and simplicity.

I had a car charger running to keep me going, and this allowed 2 hr stints on tack- enough for me. Otherwise more batts in jersey.

A weak comparo from the weekend was the niterider minewt (sp?), selling for $375 aud. About half the output of ONE l2D CE I reckon, and best part of double what I paid for three!

Anyway, hope this helps,

Cheers,
Gary

PS: If youre in australia, David at torchworld gave some top customer service- recommended! http://www.torchworld.com.au/catalog/index.php

Last edited:

aljsk8

Enlightened
i have australian friends

but those who dont wont know what moot means

:lolsign:

sootyboy

Newly Enlightened
Just for your info the word [/B]moot is used and understood in Scotland and the U.K.

r0b0r

Enlightened
mut is an australianism, afaik

(rhymes with put, as in "put down")

it is a somewhat derogatory reference to the primary female pleasure hole

JJH

Newly Enlightened