Suitable charger for li-on 14500 (hopefully not too dumb a question!)

sunglob

Newly Enlightened
I've just ordered some AW's P14500 and AW's Dual Bay Fast Charger (AW-139) from Fenix-Store.com. I presume this is the correct charger for these cells, but I don't want to make a mistake knowing what can happen if you mis-handle li-ions. I have no experience of rechargeable li-ons in AA or CR123 formats, and I presume the AW-139 is the same as WF-139?

I've searched the forums and think I'm OK, but would welcome a second opinion.

DM51

Flashaholic
The WF-139 charger will be OK for protected cells such as AW's 14500s. You should know however that problems have been reported with this charger overcharging unprotected cells (they don't have overcharge protection). For this reason it should NOT be used with unprotected cells.

Also, at 450mA output it is underpowered for larger Li-Ion cell sizes. For example, a 14500 cell should ideally be charged at ~1.2A, and an 18650 at ~1.6A.

There are better chargers than the WF-139, although they are of course more expensive. The Pila charger is reported elsewhere by Paul_in_Maryland as being very reliable. The next step up from that would be a Triton or a Schulze.

I suggest you use the WF-139 in conjunction with a multimeter and check your cells' voltage from time to time. Take them off the charger as soon as the light goes green.

There is a lot more to learn about Li-Ion safety, charging etc. Here is a start:

Lithium chemistry is wonderful as long as it is used within its limits. When you get outside of its limits, it has a tendency to "rapidly vent with flame," more commonly called an explosion accompanied with a fireball.

Li-Ion cells need to have the maximum voltage to them limited to 4.2 volts. When you exceed this, you run the risk of an explosion.