Dorcy Cool Cyan

hideo

Enlightened
sat down and started tinkering with one of the Dorcy Spyders ... for those not familiar, it's a nice cheap little 2x123 aluminum light that has potential for LED upgrades (downgrades) without breaking the bank ...

took out the Dremel and quickly realixed I had no uncomitted Luxeons around 'cept for a cyan 1W LD "module" for drop in applications ...

had the right size pins to fit the Dorcy's bi-pin socket

no regulator either (I'm new to this) ... I don't need no stinking regulator ...

(Pardon the stream of drivel writing that follows:)

took the light apart and jumpered 2 worn out (moon mode on the LS or the Sneedle) cells to the Lux (oops, polarity--reverse try again ... pretty bright, no smoke

(Puzzle--scatch head--look at pieces of light again ... follow Slick's lead and try to Dremel reflector out to allow Lux to rise above the bottom of the bowl--patience wearing thin ... dim large area flood (McFlood?)

take the NX05 optic-- fits in the head of the Spyder with reflector removed (working faster now)... juggle optic and light and move optic back and forth--scratch head some more. can't secure optic in place against LED ... and focus not right ... grind down backside of optic with emery cloth ... more, more ... THERE!

saran wrap is the key to eliminating the rattle when shaken-tension secures the optic and the outer part of the head secures the saran:

fba4b58e.jpg

trim saran and voila! Looks factory!

fba4b83c.jpg

white in the head is the frosting of the back lip of the optic from sanding to get the focus right ...

fba4b092.jpg

fba4b5ef.jpg

with two tired 123s and a bright, white ARC LSL (2AA) on the right:

fba4b07b.jpg

1 toasted and 1 fresh 123:

fba4b07b.jpg

it was kinda late and I did'nt really think--the next move was reflex ... direct drive Lux abuse with two fresh 123s -a couple of seconds only)

fba4b60c.jpg