Maha MH-C9000 zener diode identification

TheGrave

Newly Enlightened
Hi,

One of my slots on the C9000 charger is having issues and this diode seems to be dead:
IMG-0f30a084cec30f60cc956c5e8d3fc542-V.jpg

Can anyone help me with the identification? Guy troubleshooting it measured voltage around 4.96V on its healthy brothers :) We were having issues identifying it by the colour code (if this is possible at all).

Cheers

Last edited by a moderator:

aznsx

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi,

One of my slots on the C9000 charger is having issues and this diode seems to be dead:

Can anyone help me with the identification? Guy troubleshooting it measured voltage around 4.96V on its healthy brothers :) We were having issues identifying it by the colour code (if this is possible at all).

Cheers

It has been decades since I studied them (quite a bit) / worked with them/analyzed the circuits (somewhat less), so I probably shouldn't speculate from memory, but...

Isn't the measured in-circuit voltage drop across a 'good' one in a good circuit under power in fact its rating?

As an aside: The voltage drop across the zener, plus the voltage drop across the circuit's dropping resistor, should equal the applied source voltage being regulated.

That's how I remember it, but I certainly could be wrong after all these years. If so, you won't need the color code if the good one you're measuring is the same as the failed one (which they appear to be), and your meter is accurate.

LEDphile

Enlightened
Given that green-black is 5-0 following the standard resistor color code, and that 2-stripe zeners are usually marked in decivolts, that is likely a 5V zener. And that aligns nicely with the 4.97V measurement.

aznsx

Flashlight Enthusiast
Given that green-black is 5-0 following the standard resistor color code, and that 2-stripe zeners are usually marked in decivolts, that is likely a 5V zener. And that aligns nicely with the 4.97V measurement.