Noob looking to start modding mags

jmpaul320

Flashlight Enthusiast
I am looking to start modding mag lites... simply because of the fact that well, I just enjoy them. My dad always had one when I was growing up, and then naturally the first light I bought was a 6d incan Maglite.

but now after seeing all the possibilities, I would like to start taking them apart and making more use of dropins etc etc.

so where should I start? I see that malkoff makes a nice xml drop in, and also jayrob here makes an awesome xml with voltage monitor (I will have one of these eventually lol) i have also seen a 5 or 6x q5 and a 6x xr-e that can fit into a maghost from dx

but i also think some of the fun is doing the tinkering myself

I have limited basic knowledge of electronics, I know what watts, volts, ohms, amps are etc and I know the difference between series and parallel setups, and I can use a soldering iron with ease... thats about it...

I guess my question is where should I start? I have a nice new 2d mag host and my old trusty 6d host (both 'd' serial numbers) I would like to try something budget first just in case I break something:green: and then perhaps ramp up from there? I think It would also be fun to create a mag thrower (maybe aspheric, or xr-e with rebel reflector)

any tips?

thanks in advance :):popcorn:

Last edited:

JamisonM

Enlightened
Where to start? LOL Start where you want to. There are so many maglite mods, just do a search. Read a little and then go from there. My first maglite mod was a direct drive Seoul P7 in a 3D host. I think your 2D maglite with an XP-G and one of these would make a nice light. You could get yourself a piece of 1" PVC pipe and make an adapter for C and AA sized NiMH so you could use three cells. Heatsinks can be purchased from H22A. Anyway, this is just my preference. What are you looking to get out of this light? How bright do you want to make it?

yazovyet

Enlightened