Oh Elzetta!

scottk2112

Newly Enlightened
Can anyone please help me with the story behind Elzetta's compact G-Line? Note the pics below. The Elzetta and the Jetbeam are identical lights but with different branding. I actually thought this light was some sort of collaboration where Elzetta had design and spec influence. I assumed that at this price point either the labor and/or parts were offshored. I thought it was a tiny Elzetta. I'm a newb so I bought it. Now, in order to rationalize this purchase, I have to pretend it was a convention giveaway.

I'd never knock Elzetta but does anyone know why they decided to enter the low-end, mass-produced, homogenous product-market? It just seems weird to see a competitor selling an identical product. There must be a story here. Anyone else have an opinion on this?

Attachments

• IMG_0203.jpeg
    IMG_0203.jpeg
    310.5 KB · Views: 41
  • IMG_0202.jpeg
    IMG_0202.jpeg
    202.1 KB · Views: 36
Last edited:

bykfixer

Flashaholic
Here's a thread about them.

I've bought several as giveaways.

bykfixer

Flashaholic
To me the G-Line idea was not that unlike what PK tried over at SureFire. He designed and hired folks to build his Icon series of lights that were slated to be sold at Target stores. "The boss" told him to shut it down so he did but the idea was about the same as Elzetta did a decade + later.

Now, PK did not have the SureFire name involved with those Icon lights like Elzetta has done with the G-Line. Nor did he use an already existing platform to build from. So most outside of CPF'rs would likely not know those avant garde Icons were designed by the head designer over at SureFire. Elzetta came right out and stated "yeah we hired Jetbeam to build some lights" but they were built with some Elzetta engineering upgrades. It's not that unlike an Acura car that started out as a Honda Accord or a Lexus that began with the Toyota Camry platform. At least to this Lexus owner.

kerneldrop

Flashlight Enthusiast