Question about RCR123A batteries

Alteran

Enlightened
Where the grass is blue, up is down, and hamburger
I was browsing batteryjunction.com, when I noticed some rechargeable lithium batteries, and I am thinking of buying them. There are 2 kinds being sold with a charger, the main difference, maybe the only one, is one kind of batteries are 900mAh, the others 750mAh. What is the difference? They are also listed as 3.0V batteries, but it then says they charge fully to 3.6V. I am also wondering if the higher initial voltages can damage LEDs, as I know it can blow incandescents. Also, it does say it is a 3.0V "working voltage". I am looking so save money on batteries, but I sure don't want to destroy one of my lights! I am very new to rechargeable lithium batteries, and any advice is greatly appreciated.

By the way, the batteries I saw are at http://http://www.batteryjunction.com/recrbachrc.html

Last edited:
What flashlight are you trying to use them in?
The 900 mAh batteries just have a higher capacity which allow the batteries to run longer. The 3.0v RCR123 batteries should work in your LED flashlight without any problems. I am running with Powerizer 3.0v RCR123 in my Streamlight incandescent light with 3 of these batteries with no problems, and I ran 2 of these in my Pelican M6 incandescent with no problems until I did something VERY stupid and tried 2 3.6v RCR123 batteries and blew out instantly. I had a Streamlight 2L Twin Task and Xenon/LED and never had a problem.
Alteran said: