Recommend a practical LEP.

RegularGuy81

Newly Enlightened
I am just learning about LEP lights. They seem really cool and very useful for SaR. I am mostly interested in wowing friends and non flashoholics... lol. I suppose I would take it with me on vacations to the woods or on the beach, I feel like it would be very useful in a "I wish I could see deeper into the woods or further down the beach" at night.

Can you recommend a "budget conscious" single 18650 or smaller sized LEP light with a respectable runtime and maybe onboard charging?

Thanks guys

A Google search turned up this LEP.

I don't know the performance of this light, but the few LEPs I've owned in the past did not zoom. Without zoom, an LEP is not really useful, even at long distances. Think of it as a laser pointer with a wider white beam. I used one at the beach to try to spot things at a distance, but without any spill, I could only point out things (like a laser pointer), but not get any context of what surrounded the target.

Perhaps this and other zoom-able LEPs might better fit the bill.

pc_light

Enlightened

... Without zoom, an LEP is not really useful, even at long distances... Think of it as a laser pointer with a wider white beam. I used one at the beach to try to spot things at a distance, but without any spill, I could only point out things (like a laser pointer), but not get any context of what surrounded the target.
+1 about adding zoom to increase utility to more than a spotting light. (Note that the light referenced ("...this LEP...") is an LED and not an LEP model.)

Maxtorch XSword LA60 is a "focusing" LEP light that looks very nice albeit a tad pricey.

+1 about adding zoom to increase utility to more than a spotting light. (Note that the light referenced ("...this LEP...") is an LED and not an LEP model.)

Maxtorch XSword LA60 is a "focusing" LEP light that looks very nice albeit a tad pricey.