Headlamp Choices

cazador

Newly Enlightened
Please bear with another, "help me choose a headlamp thread." Anyway, I've zero experience with headlamps, but recently came to the conclusion that I need one. In fact, I wonder why I haven't come to this conclusion long, long ago? :thinking:
Last week I was deer hunting and shot a nice buck just before sunset. Needless to say, by the time I picked up my grandpa from his stand, and got around to field dressing the deer, it was dark. (not the first time this has happened) So there I was, with hands busy, thinking I need more light than my grandpa's flashlight was providing.
I've narrowed it down to three, I think, headlamps: SL Trident, PT Corona, and PT EOS. The main use would be for tasks such as the one above. I'm thinking lots of flood. Also, I'd like to use it to read from time to time, so it needs to be dimmable or variable output. Lastly, some throw would be good for tasks such as navigating a trail, etc... The Trident's price is right, but I'm not sure it has enough flood. The EOS gets rave reviews, but I'm not sure it has enough flood either. The Corona seems to be what I might be looking for, but I'm not sure. I've read all the reviews, but would like to hear from some of y'all with some real world experiences with these lights. Appreciate the help.

CLHC

Flashaholic
Just a quick one here. Have you tried looking at the Tikka XP? It's got variable light settings with strobe feature plus a built in slide-away diffuser. It's also got a temporary light "booster" for that momentary throw to see farther.

This little light weight is pretty bright from what I can tell. I haven't read any reviews on this particular light, just saw it and compared it with the others that you mentioned. So for me it was a toss-up between the Princeton Tec EOS and this Tikka XP. But I'm thinking I'll go back for the Princeton Tec EOS too.

Hope you find what you're looking for and Enjoy!

grrickar

Newly Enlightened