Newbie in need of a little help

B737Driver

Newly Enlightened
:wave: Newbie here looking to replace a Maglite 2D light. I don't want to spend more than $50.00 USD. I know what light I want, but it isn't being made anymore (SureFire A2-BK-WH) so I'll wait until they make it again. While I wait for that day to come (or my patience wears thin), I will need a light to start off my collection.

The light will be used for preflighting a B737. I want one with a throw that can light up the tail section and yet provide a light for tire, oil leak and engine inlet inspections at night. I won't need it in the cockpit.

I prefer:

1) 2x123A
2) Size, anything smaller than my Maglite 2D :laughing:
3) Incan.

I was looking at the SF G2 or the SL TL-2 incan.. I don't want to do any mods to the light, I just want to use it out of the box. Any suggestions will greatly be appreciated.

Thanks!

Last edited:

Lit Up

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hello and welcome!

Don't have any suggestions myself, but there's plenty on here who will I'm sure.
I just wanted to state that you might wanna edit your post to include any preferences you have to:

*Battery type
*Size
*Incandescent or LED type.

It'll help narrow things down a bit.:)

SilverFox

Flashaholic
Hello B737Driver,

Welcome to CPF.

Doug (Quickbeam) and a good review site that allows you to sort on different types of lights and compare their overall output and throw. www.flashlightreviews.com

I would suggest you look up the specifications on the A2 and find a light with similar performance.

You may want to check out the SureFire G2 C2 and e2E, Brinkman LX and Maxfire LX, Pelican M6 incandescent, StreamLight Scorpion and TL-2, and the Vital Gear F2. I am sure there are others, but that should get you started.

Tom

joema

Flashlight Enthusiast
B737Driver said:
...I want one with a throw that can light up the tail section and yet provide a light for tire, oil leak and engine inlet inspections at night. I won't need it in the cockpit...