Metal Gear Modding (Update! new pics!) More!

bikeg

Newly Enlightened
Hello all!

I have a Dorcy Metal Gear,
I stuffed two cr123's in it tonite:twothumbs

Quite a difference!

Question is this...Remember the Terra destroyer on Led Museum's webpage?
That thing is a beast.
That is sort of what I have in mind.
I want to buy a Cyan LuxIII OR V
Will these light take two cr123's direct drive if I disable the resistor?

Thanks for an awesome forum guys!:thanks:

Last edited:

bikeg

Newly Enlightened
Re: Metal Gear Modding

hmmmmmmmm.
A 4 watt resistor?
ughhh?

The light will be based on a Cyan LuxV with a max forward voltage of 8.31v
If I direct drive from 2 cr123's which are at 3 volts each....the min MFV on the LuxV is 5.43v...should work ok...but I gotta be missing something.

I am a noob at all this, any help would be great!

Again my goal here is take a LuxV or III and drive the holy hell out of it, without killing it, dont really care about runtime.:anyone:

Oh, and what will say a 700Ma puck do for me?

Last edited:

offroadcmpr

Enlightened

I say try a red-orange luxeon III. 190 lumens at 3 watts! I think it the input voltage is around 3 volts, but thats about all I know about it.

Good luck

bikeg

Newly Enlightened

offroadcmpr said:
I say try a red-orange luxeon III. 190 lumens at 3 watts! I think it the input voltage is around 3 volts, but thats about all I know about it.

Good luck

Thanks!

I just bought a couple oh Cyan Lux III
I will keep my eyes open for a red-orange :thanks:

bikeg

Newly Enlightened

Walt175 said:
bikeg said:
Hello all!

I have a Dorcy Metal Gear,
I stuffed two cr123's in it tonite:twothumbs

How did you do it? C'mon share!!

Well, I took two cr123's and taped the together with electrical tape, kept wrapping it in tape until it met the inside diameter of the the body, nice snug fit!