Have Maxfire, need LED equal or greater

chR15

Newly Enlightened
I'm pretty new to the light addiction, I have ready alot on flashlightreviews.com, and here.
I have the brinkman maxfire, I carry it at work and on trips. I have beat it to death, and it asks for more. But, I would like something brighter(of course!:)), I have been eyeing the sf l4, but on flashlightreviews, it seems to be not as bright as the maxfire, is it? If so, what is the led equal of the maxfire or better?
Anyone that owns both, post your thoughts!:rock:

Last edited:

Macaw

Enlightened
Surefire L2 will give you a half hour of maximum brightness as measured on the Flashlightreviews.com.
http://www.flashlightreviews.com/reviews/surefire_l2.htm
The maxfire will only sustain max outout for about fifteen minutes.
http://www.flashlightreviews.com/reviews/brinkmann_maxfirelx.htm

The L2 is also much brighter though the output is more flood than throw, the Maxfire outthrows the L2 by a large margin.

If it's throw you're after then it's going to be tough to beat the maxfire with a similar sized flashlight in a LED. The McGizmo HD-45 is a powerful thrower though it uses a fairly large head to accomplish it. You'll probably have to go to some of the larger LED flashlights such as the Elektrolumens or the LEDBeam 3C (Outstanding value) to get more throw than the Maxfire.

Last edited:

chR15

Newly Enlightened
Yes, the maxfire has impressed me alot, it is the only light I grab. I'd like to give it to the old lady to keep in her pocket book (and gives me a reason to buy a $165 flashlight:sold::sssh:). About 99% of my work with the light is close up inspecting, which the two-stage clickie would be great for. Anyone have a reason why I shouldn't get it? Anyone thing something else would be better? Cheapest place to get it?
EDIT-How would the L2 be for self-defense? I reeeealy don't want to shoot someone. I'd rather blind them, and drive off, or run.