KL3 or KL5

DownUnderLite

Newly Enlightened
G'day fellow 'holic's,
Just recieved a SF 9P (my first real flashlight). So I thought I'd do a little homework about it and found this excellent site (Congratulations:goodjob: ,
Boy, have I been in the dark!!)
Being a complete newbie to the (flashlight)world, I spent the last few days going over all the posts. Like so many members have said this site is more addictive than drugs!(And can cost just as much)

Now I was just wondering what is the difference between the SF KL3 and the KL5 (both apparently are compatable with the 9P).
Is the KL3 a 3 watt LED and the KL5 a 5watt LED?
If thats the case then is only consumption and lumens affected?
What would you reccomend?

Thanks for a great site and any help you can give.
By the way I've ordered a SF U2 and read about all the pluses and minuses, so I know what I can possibly expect(No more on that. Enough said by members!!). I'm not a purist so I don't think the doghnut will be noticeable to me. Just so long as it's functional. I'll be happy.:) :) :)

roguesw

Enlightened
firstly congrats on ur 9P, my first flashlight to make me literally see the light was a 6P :)
secondly, with regards to the KL3 or the KL5, it depends on your needs, do you need a light with a lot of throw or medium throw and lots of flood
the KL3 offers only throw and almost no sidespill, the KL5 offers average throw, and lots of sidespill
taking into account the KL3 Lux 3 has only 1 LED die, whereas the KL5 Lux 5 has 4 LED dies, the amount of light is significantly more in the KL5
since you are already getting a U2, its beam is similar to the KL5 so in fact, if you get a KL5, u have a redundant flashlight
since this is your first Luxeon LED, i would recommend the KL3 for throw and the U2 to fill in the space for flood and med throw.
hope this helps
and finally, a flashoholic motto, if in doubt, buy em both
and welcome to CPF :)

Fusion_m8

Flashlight Enthusiast
G'day mate,