sf z3 mods?

tarsier

Newly Enlightened
I have an old surefire z3 combatlight - any suggestions on Mods?

tarsier

yazkaz

Flashlight Enthusiast
Being a modular system it's easy to at least update (if not upgrade) your Z3 to the most current spec. My suggestions would be:

a. Shock-isolated bezel assy for M2 (black)
b. Z49/59 tail switch
c. Grip rings and spacer (forgot part #, sorry)
d. LED head option (KL3, KL5)

If you want more power with a 12V power source, you may also consider

a. Turbo head kit KT-1
b. A19 or MC123 extension
c. G&P 12V lamp assy option (compatible with standard or M2 bezel assy)

Hope that helps.

Size15's

Flashaholic
Note that the KT1 is for two-SF123A models such as the 6P.

Apart from the black "M2" bezel there is the Z32 bezel. Both are shock isolated but the Z32 is more light-weight and compact featuring a Lexan rather than Pyrex window.

In terms of TurboHeads there a various options. The KT2 with it's N2 lamp is the current TurboHead. You can also use the MN15 and MN16 lamps in it.
Perhaps the best option is the "SRTH" TurboHead from SureFire Dealer LPS. It is more light-weight and compact featuring a Lexan rather than Pyrex window.
However, it is specifically designed for the N2 rather than MN15/MN16 lamps.

In terms of TailCaps there are various options.
The Z59 compact Clickie TailCap is the only other real option if you want to retain the use of the CombatGrip. Options like the Z49 are too long and difficult to operate with the CombatGrip.

The KL3 and KL5 LED bezels come in black. If you did searching rather than shooting then the KL5 with it's broader beam would be best. If you did a lot of shooting then the KL3 with it's narrower beam would be better for shining through smoke. If you have a mixture of indoor and outdoor searching I suggest you stick with the P90/P91 lamps and get a Z32 shock isolated bezel.
If you mostly use it outdoors then the SRTH TurboHead is fantastic.