Newbe shopping for some light!

Lonely Raven

Newly Enlightened

OK, I've been reading up here a bit in the forums, but there is A LOT here to digest. Hopefully you all can help me narrow down my choices a bit.

Story:

My fiancé wants to get me a nice flashlight for my birthday in early November. She can't afford to get me anything from any of my other hobbies, and even this flashlight would be stretching it for her honestly. If I find "the one" flashlight that will suit me, then I'd pitch in however much cash needed, but HER budget is around $100.

My needs:

I'm a computer systems manager for a large hotel chain. I do some "guard" work (putting it very loosely) on the side. I'm also an amateur photographer often out at all hours photographing, and enjoy late night bike rides. I have some tactical pistol training, and have used surefire lights in training, and I've since wanted a quality, compact light, but I'm not stuck on any brand or system.

Requirements:

Hopefully I'm not asking too much of one light. But I fear that I am. This is where I really need some guidance, as there is so much out there to look at, choose from, and compare. Usually I do my own research, but my fiancé wants to order this light for me this weekend while she's got the cash in her pocket. :)

I need something compact, belt pouch size I guess, that I could wear under a suit. It's got to be damn near indestructible, no easy to break bulbs. HIGH power; If I'm going to get a good light, it's got to be able to cover everything from peeking down a cable run conduit to tactical pistol to walking the dog. I'd prefer rechargeable to expensive single use batteries, I don't mind the initial expense as long as I'm not replacing rechargeable every six months! I'd buy a professional charging station if need be since I'd use it with my camera and bike gear anyways. I like lights that I can hold the button for on, or click for constant on. Variable beam pattern would be a plus, as would variable output.