first time and question

hvacman

Newly Enlightened
This is my first time posting but a long time reader of this great board, I have a question I'm looking for a light for under a 100.00 something that's durable.bright and small not looking for a 123 battery light can get expensive,I have a few lights already just looking for better I will list what I have.
2d mag with drop in led
3dmag with led
mini mag 3 watt
mini mag 3 led
mag charger
streamlite strion
polystinger
3c xp
river rock 3aaa I think that's what it takes
fenix l1t
and a couple of cheaper lights
Thanks for any help in advance

the servents of twilight

Newly Enlightened
Fenix lights are very nice, are in your price range, and there are ones that take AA and AAA batteries. Get something with a cree LED.

BB

Flashlight Enthusiast
I don't think I see any headlamps in your list... I would suggest looking at getting a nice one. You don't realize how handy they are until you use one under the sink vs the three hands you need to hold tools and a hand held light.

The new regulated/variable output ones look nice. A headlamp does not need to be bright for ordinary use.

-Bill

Gunner12

Flashaholic
Would a Lumapower M3 work? It's not the smallest AA light but you get lots of options(2AA, 1AA, 1 CR123, Turbohead), and it seems like a tough light. Or would the Fenix L1/2D-CE or P2D-CE suit you more(they have interchangeable battery tubes so you can run 1AA, 2AA, or 1 CR123. They also have many modes, that might be good or bad depending on what you need the light for). Lumapower M3 Review, Fenix L1/2D-CE review, P2D-CE review.

Welcome to CPF!

Last edited:

SoundMix

Newly Enlightened
I agree with BB. A headlamp does a great job of freeing up you hands. I've got a Tikka XP which has spot and flood.

molite

Newly Enlightened
Hvacman,
Welcome!!!!!
If you want an every day carry (EDC) for poking around in the attic then a Fenix led is the way to go or a head lamp both recommendations from above are excellent.