How Should I Power An Ultrafire C2?

Wassernaut

Newly Enlightened
I have an Ultrafire C2 on the way from DX.
This one: http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.1446
It takes either 2xCR123's or 1x18650.

I also have a P3D which I'm powering with 2xRCR123A's and sometimes primary CR123A's.

Is there any advantage to using 1X18650 over 2XRCR123A's? Will the 18650 give me more throw, longer runtime, or any advantage? I am aware that I'll need a spacer for protected 18650's.

I am fairly new to Lithium Ions, but have had no problems with charging/using the RCR123A's. I never charge them unattended, pay strict attention to having the polarity correct, and I have the charger sitting in a large steel box just for safety.

Which would you use?

Thanks,

- Larry

Last edited:

KingGlamis

Banned
Well I'm no expert on batteries, but please post beam shots when you get it. i'm interested in that light as well.

Jefff

Enlightened
Here is some great info on this light http://candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?t=154449

short answer 18650 for a little less light but more runtime.. this is how I ran mine and it is still amazingly bright. I would not run 2 rechargable cr123's in sequence of each other due to risk of batteries freaking out and blowing up.. so I went with the 18650's for the rechargable option so I didn't have to dump cash into a flashlight over and over again to keep it running.. To each his own though.

Congrats on the new light I really enjoyed mine and I am either going to buy another one in HAIII coating or try to find out what would be brighter than this ultrafire C2 in about the same package design..

Wassernaut

Newly Enlightened
Here is some great info on this light http://candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?t=154449