To those who are self-employed

LightBen

Newly Enlightened
Hello all,

I was recently "let go" from my job of three years as an electrical engineer (along with the head of electrical engineering, the head of the quality department, and numerous others). The company simply ran out of money to cover payroll from what I shall (generously) call gross mismanagement and serious misapplication of captial.

I have made the decision to become self-employed. I don't mind working hard for myself, but I can't stand the idea of going back to an environment where I get yelled at by someone who isn't actually my boss for being 3 minutes late (at the end of an hour-long commute. He actually asked me if I was going to make up the 3 minutes! Come on, I was a salaried engineer, not an hourly employee).

The unemployment office in NJ has a program for those who qualify that allows them to take 60 hours of instruction over 6 weeks at a community college on starting a business--writing a business plan, marketing, legal, book keeping, taxes, etc. Assuming I meet the qualifications (there's no way to know before you receive your letter), this course should help me with the basic mechanics of becoming self-employed.

This brings me to my main question: those of you who are or have been self-employed, can you give me any general advice or wisdom? Was it a good decision for you, or were you happier working for someone else? What did you do about health insurance? Any words of advice, stories, gotchas, etc. are welcome.

KC2IXE

Flashaholic*
First - I hope you have good money in the bank - it WILL take a while till you have positive cash flow - can you deal with that

Second - marketing - plan on HOW you will market your services, and plan on spending about 25-30 percent of your time doing marketing

Third - "Overhead time" - you will eat up a lot of time with overhead - paying bills, sending invoices doing the above said marketing etc