Please Enlighten Me!

donn_

Flashaholic
I'm pretty new to this stuff, and have been reading the various forums, vendor websites and other resources in an effort to make a decision on my first EDC light. So far, I keep asking myself more questions than I answer. All I've decided is the EDC will be powered by an LED.

One of the things I'm doing, as a part of my education, is reading all the B/T/S threads, both here and on the Marketplace, and trying to soak up a little product knowledge. I'm also reading all the reviews I can lay my hands on, and reading threads on mods and lego and what-all.

As of a couple of days ago, I thought I was fairly well settled on a Surefire (mainly due to the raves on this forum) 6P Defender, with a Malkoff drop-in (if it'll work in the light.) I like the simplicity, and the clickie tail-switch.

Today, however, while browsing threads in the Marketplace, I came across one in which a forum veteran is selling an HDS EDC 42 Basic, for $100. He doesn't give much info on the brand or the model, so I researched it. I really like the form-factor and the simplicity, and it appears to be as tank-like in its construction as Surefires.

My first question is simple. Why would someone pay $100 for this light, when an extra $10 gets more than twice the brightness in a brand new light which appears to be a direct successor to the HDS, a Novatac EDC 85? Is it collector's value, or is the HDS that much better than the Novatacs?

My second question is probably more complicated. How do I decide between rechargeable and throw-away power for my EDC? I lean toward recharging, for economy purposes and general green-thinking, but will I be sacrificing performance? Are there safety issues? If a flashlight calls for a CR123 battery, can I always assume I could use a rechargeable alternative?