newbie, newbie question

mitty

Newly Enlightened
Just discovered this forum. Never would have expected this level of intensity on the subject of flashlights! Probably you guys can help:

I am a pilot and in need of a medium intensity flashlight for night time preflights, etc. outside the airplane. White light for sure, a red option would be nice but I am covered for red cockpit lighting so it is not critical.

I have been trying to use some of the ubiquitous Chinese cheap-o flashlights. You know, the $5-7 fat aluminum 4xAAA ones about 4" long with 8 LEDs. The form factor and brightness are about right for me, but the reliability sucks.

The problem, in addition to cheap switches, is that they try to conduct electricity by making pressure contact to aluminum. As soon as a little oxide forms in the contact area you have an insulator layer and a flaky flashlight. I have tried sanding the contact areas and using the aluminum contact grease sold for aluminum house wiring connections but this is only a marginal improvement, not a fix.

Can you recommend a similar size flashlight that does not rely on this type of connection? i.e., real nickel or copper plating where there are pressure contacts to be made? AA or AAA batteries would be nice, too, as I already carry them. I don't mind paying thirty or forty bucks but I don't need or want to pay for an expensive "tactical" marketing strategy. None of my pistols have rails anyway.

TIA

Marduke

Flashaholic

DanielG

Enlightened
Just discovered this forum. Never would have expected this level of intensity on the subject of flashlights! Probably you guys can help:

I am a pilot and in need of a medium intensity flashlight for night time preflights, etc. outside the airplane. White light for sure, a red option would be nice but I am covered for red cockpit lighting so it is not critical.

I'm a pilot and know exactly what you're talking about.