Newbie about to buy first Surefire; few questions...

RobertM

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hello everyone, I've been doing a bunch of research on here for about a week now and think I've decided on what to purchase, but have a few questions for you guys.

Here are qualities that I'm looking for:
-Surefire (the folks over on GlockTalk.com have really turned me on to them)
-LED
-Brighter the better
-Decent battery life (at least 1.5 hrs regulated output)
-More throw than spill (I live in the county and would like a light that can light up objects pretty good at 50-100 yards)
-Enough spill to walk through the woods or other dark walkways though
-Small enough for EDC (I work in IT and will occasionally need it when working on computer hardware in dark areas)
-Not too expensive (<$200)

I'm strongly leaning towards the 6PL, but also considering the L1, L5, and E2L. Which do you guys think fits my needs the best?

I really like how the 6PL has about 3 hours of good output (~75-80 lumens) but also provides many additional hours of so-so output (like if you're in the woods and need additional light to get back to camp, even if its only a small amount of light).

Main question: is the 6PL a decent "thrower"? Any drawbacks to the 6PL or problems that anyone knows of?

Thanks in advance everyone,

Robert

KeyGrip

Flashlight Enthusiast