Just ordered an Inova T3

jdmaxima89

Newly Enlightened
And now I think I may be regretting it. Unfortunately I found this site after ordering. My friend has an Inova X5 and loves it, so I figured I'd just get something to outdo him, and got the same brand. Now that I see some of your recommendations, looks like a Fenix L2D CE would have been a better choice. I don't like the thought of using 123A batteries as they are more expensive, and doesn't seem to be any good rechargeables for it. Should I sell this Inova when I get it and get the Fenix instead? I'm new to good flashlights, and all I know is I want it to be brighter than my friends X5, about the size of a minimag, no larger than the T3 for sure, and the sound of AA sounds good for the fact that I already have a ton of rechargeables for that.

Or should I keep the T3 and suck it up and spend money on batteries. Do you recommend rechargeables for it, and what brand if so?

Thanks and sorry for all the questions! :NOOB:

Lobo

Flashlight Enthusiast
Yep, you really do have bad timing. Innova is upgrading their production lines with cree now also. I don't think Innova lights works on rechargables, just something I've heard. Not sure if it's the diameter of the tube or the circuit who can't handle them. If it's the circuit, there are 3.0V rechargables, allthough they have less mah than regular RCR123(who has less charge than CR123 primaries).

Your friends X5 is different light, more of a floodlight since it has multiple emitters. It's not very bright by todays standard, almost any AA-light today will outperform it when it comes to brightness. Allthough it is still a pretty popular light here cause it has a reputation of being bombproof and utterly reliable.

And yes, the Fenix L2D Q5 is an excellent light, unbelievable bright, outstanding runtimes, reliable and runs on regular AA that you can find anywhere, cheap. You can't go wrong with one.

Speedball

Newly Enlightened