Lights and photography

cwinhall

Newly Enlightened
Hi all,

New to the forums here. Found this forum from a google search for "most powerful handheld torch" which led me onto the "Maxablaster" which I have just spent the last 30minutes reading about... very interesting!

Anyway, I'm a photographer and a particular interest of mine is "painting with light" at night, in almost pitch darkness and using a light (usually a torch) I paint the scenerey I want to show in my photo.

For doing this I have only really been using a 5million candle power torch from "Argos(.co.uk)". Which, although it's good, it's not great for what I want.

What I really want, is a steady, constant beam of light, circlular, square or rectangular even!

What suggestions do you guys have for me? :thinking:

Colin.

cwinhall

Newly Enlightened
Here are some photos I have taken so you get an idea what I mean...

p1008561535.jpg

p839451709.jpg

p891088733.jpg

p676365843.jpg

p711483931.jpg

f22shift

Flashlight Enthusiast
there was that famous photo(national geographic?) of the milkyway i think it was in africa and it was stitched photos. the guy used a minimag ican for highlighting the tree in front. it was something similar to this pic
images

anyway on your pics, some of the shots look like pics of flashlight beams(2,3,5). i think there is too much spill and it's lighting up the foreground. i think some sort of thrower will be better just to light up specifically what you want.

RustyKnee

Enlightened
cool. I have dabbled with light painting...nothing as succesful as your pics though. Lasers can be good fun for this too.

Stu

cwinhall

Newly Enlightened
there was that famous photo(national geographic?) of the milkyway i think it was in africa and it was stitched photos. the guy used a minimag ican for highlighting the tree in front. it was something similar to this pic
images