3AA mods, suggestions

revs

Newly Enlightened
I have a Mac Tools 3xAA flashlight. It is similar in size to a Maglite 2AA light, just longer for the extra cell. It uses a clicky tail cap to turn on/off. I want to convert it to LED and get the most light/longest runtime I can. Any suggestions? Is there a drop-in that will take the voltage of 3 AAs or better? What are my power options for a 3AA host body?

Forgive me, I am new to this. I have some electronics background and can run soldering irons and DMMs.

Looking into the head of this light, there is a thin white disk that the light plugs into. Nothing fancy, just a disk. I like it because it has a rubber armored barrel and a rubber ring on the outside of the head for a good grip with gloves.

Thank you.

eebowler

Flashlight Enthusiast
You're asking a hard question. The minimag is the standard 2AA light we mod around here. Another one (of much better quality) was the brinkman 2AA light but that was more expensive and less popular. When custom manufacturers (sandwich shoppe etc,) design and make drop in modules, they are based on the maglite and do not fit in other shaped lights. This doesn't answer your question though...

I'm thinking that direct driving some LED is your best option. You'll probably have to get one with a high foward voltage so it would't fry with excessive current or use a series resistor to limit the current instead. The easiest thing that comes to mind is using a cut down SMJLED from the sandwich shop (or maybe from a member here). It is a multi die LED with the top cut off and polished. This allows it to throw it's light out at a much wider angle which makes it somewhat focusable with a reflector. It's not that bright relative to other things but will give you a long runtime.

You can do this with a Luxeon or Seoul high power LED as well but you MUST have some sort of heatsink for the LED.

revs

Newly Enlightened