Where do you start?

rob1261

Newly Enlightened
First Post, a little background.

I have been shooting handguns for several years (Glock, S&W, etc). Have purchased some Knives (Benchmark).

But just recently realized I should have an LED tactical light. And as is with the above, you can't have just one.

So I made a fairly quick purchase of an off brand light (ebay), Palm Blaze 57K22L Luxeon 6W LED ($30).

I am very impressed with it. But I think it just started my curiosity into this new world.

I have a Surefire Catalog, very nice stuff, but expensive, unless convinced otherwise.

So as I look at the many various Flashlight options out there, how do you choose?

My current need is for General Purpose, Home Defense, and Car Emergency.

Thanks, rob1261

Jarl

Flashlight Enthusiast
General purpose I'd recommend a fenix L2D or Nitecore D10. The fenix is generally considered the best 2xAA light, while the D10 is a really good single AA light. Car emergency would be something larger, possibly a mag drop-in (check out gene's site for some sweet ones- google gene malkoff). As for home defense, a fenix TK or a SF would be the first things that spring to my mind.

RWT1405

Flashlight Enthusiast
The Fenix L2D is a good light, BUT for what you are looking for, I would very much recommend the L2T v2.0. See link below.

https://www.fenix-store.com/product_info.php?cPath=22_69_71&products_id=335

The SF 6P with a Malkoff M60 would be best for use with CCW (it is what I carry anyway), but I would HARDLY consider it as best for general purpose or car energency (an SF G2 with a M60LL would be my best for use for those).

My .02 FWIW YMMV

Last edited:

russtang

Flashlight Enthusiast
rob1261

welcome to cpf. I would take some time and do some reading for a while.

The choices of lights available can be overwhelming to some.
The opinions on which are "best" are just as plentiful.

I would say, think what your most common use for one would be, and go from there.