Which is Brighter; Malkoff M60 vs BOG "Super Premium" ?

cleetus03

Newly Enlightened
Newbie here! I have searched endlessly on CPF for this answer, but have yet to find a solid clear cut answer for which unit is brighter. I have found conflicting opinions from owners of each drop in. So can this debate be answered once & for all with factual & credible answers not opinions?
P.S. the question is which unit, the Malkoff M60 or BOG "super premium" is overall brighter. That's it, Not which unit is better because __(insert opinion here)_______

ginaz

Enlightened
i believe that the differences lie more in beam profile than they do in overall output. the optic on the malkoff is not optimized for maximum throw and it gives a nice, tapered spill whereas other dropins tend to a bright central spot with a ring or two and that's it.

ace0001a

Flashlight Enthusiast
To compare a Malkoff M60 with any of the other "standard design" P60LED dropins is not necessarily comparing apples to apples if only because the M60 uses an optic versus a reflector that most others brands use. The beam profile is different. From my experience between them, I find the reflectored P60LED Cree dropins give a more defined hotspot with good spill whereas the M60 gives a good hotspot, but really good spill. You should just go by the flashaholic creed of "buy them all" and buy both a BOG and M60...P60 compatible flashlights a relatively cheap and have much variety, so it shouldn't be too much. I myself have a few M60s and other P60LED dropins and love them all! :thumbsup:

cleetus03

Newly Enlightened
I'll give a example of setting in which the answer can be applied. Lets say your standing on the 50 yd line in a superdome that is pitch black were talking not a speck of light around pure darkness. Which drop in will provide the overall best throw & spill combination?

fireboltr

Enlightened