Best Headlamp for my use

Damian@FI

Newly Enlightened
Hiya Guys,

I'm new to this thing and have been doing a fair bit of reading on these wonderful boards.

I'm after a Headlamp that is going to provide me with ample light to see imperfections in painted surfaces that I work on as a high-end car detailer, like this:

After_Wash_03.sized.jpg

Before_04.sized.jpg

I have tried a few light sources and they all work fine but I know that I need a broad beam pattern and a fairly strong output.

What is your recommendation for me, I'm not too fussed what it costs -within reason. I'm not sure what type of light I should be using nor do I really care, but I think it'll most likely be LED.

My only requirements are:

- Use with Rechargable Batteries
- At least 6 hours use from a single charge
- Decent Build Quality

Was looking along the lines of this: http://www.brightguy.com/products/Petzl_Ultra_LED_Headlamp_Accu_2_E52AC.php
But again, not sure if it's the most suitable, so looking for advice.

Thanks in advance,

Damian.

Last edited:

drmaxx

Enlightened
My guess is, that you need the light mostly for close up inspections? Did you look into Zebralight? Really nice beampattern and very bright - excellent for close up work. Light and easy on your head.
I own the H50 and this light does most probably not fulfill your runtime requirement. Depending on the amount of light you need a battery lasts between 2 (on high) and lots of hours (on medium).

The latest model H60 is only promiseware and suppose to be delivered in December - this might actually fulfill all your needs.

You can check them out on 7777 webpage:
https://www.4sevens.com/index.php?cPath=89

Good luck

Lynx_Arc

Flashaholic