Convert an older Surefire Z2 Combat or E2 to LED?

DHart

Flashlight Enthusiast
Wow.... about all I can say after venturing into this complex new world of flashlights. I have a Surefire Z2 combat and E2 Exec that are a number of year's old, without a lot of use. I even have a case of Surefire 123's that date back a good 5 years or so, I think. Now I discover what's going on here with LED's and all. WOW. AND I discover the dangers of using multiple 123's. YIKES.

Anyway, is there a nice conversion to LED for my Z2 or E2 Surefires?

And is there a substitution for the 2x 123's, like a single rechargeable of some sort?

These waters get really deep, really fast for a newbie like me, so I hope I'm not asking reaaaally dumb questions! From what I've read here, I know I like the longevity and durability of LED and the relative safety (from venting) with the 18650. I have no idea if I can use anything like the 18650 in my Z2 or E2, but would appreciate your advice. Thanks very much. INCREDIBLE FORUM and MEMBERS!

Last edited:

Bruce B

Enlightened
For starters there is the Surefire P60L LA (http://www.surefire.com/P60L) which will fit into you Z2. I do suggest you look around on the forum and get others opinions as well, due to the fact that there are much better LED LA that will work with your Z2. As far as the E2, I am not sure if there is an LA that will convert it to LED, other than buying an LED conversion head direct from SF. Maybe the other more experienced Flashaholics here can help you out as well...

:welcome: DHart!

DHart

Flashlight Enthusiast
Bruce... thank you for the info and the welcome. It's nice to know that the SF P60L will upgrade my Z2 to LED! I guess at $40 I need to ask myself if I should just spend more and buy another, LED, flashlight... like the JetBeam III.

Before I spring for that, can anyone suggest any alternatives which might be even better or brighter, or the same but at lower cost?

Thanks, in advance, to all!

Niconical

Enlightened