jetbeam 3 ultra only as bright as taskforce 2c ??? is it defective?

dtx

Newly Enlightened
i just bought a jetbeam jet 3 ultra and was excited about having a bright 18650 flashlight, but it seems not to have met my expectations.

i compared it to my lowe's 3C taskforce flashlight and they are almost equal in brightness and throw, i expected the jetbeam ultra 3 to be much brighter than my taskforce because if i recall correctly the taskforce is only about 120-160 lumens more or less and the ultra is suppossed to be 220+ lumens

did i receive a defective jetbeam ultra? i tested them both at night time with brand new batteries

in the jetbeam i used a brand new fully charged AW 18650 battery.

btw..i bought it from bugoutgearusa and there was an initial delay in my shipment of about 2 weeks, they actually had to send the jetbeams back to the manufacturer because of bugs/problems with the lights.

anybody have any input on my situation?

i am really new to these nicers higher power flashlights, this is only my 2nd one, my 1st was the nitecore infinity defender, and than this one, so i really don't have any idea how bright this one should be

Last edited:

bob4apple

Enlightened
You can put that 18650 into the TaskForce 2C, for even more
brightness, as I and many others have done.

I have no idea if your jetbeam is defective, though I doubt it.
The TaskForce is well known here as a VERY bright light, and,
true story- a neighbor of mine mistook it for a car headlight!

xcel730

Flashlight Enthusiast
Did you program your Jetbeam yet? The default mode is 180 lumens. Hmmm ... even at that level, you should have noticed a difference in comparison with the Taskforce light.

dtx

Newly Enlightened
Did you program your Jetbeam yet? The default mode is 180 lumens. Hmmm ... even at that level, you should have noticed a difference in comparison with the Taskforce light.
just barely a minor difference, i will have to try to program it and than see what happens i guess,