Why Not Optics?

erix

Newly Enlightened
Howdy,

First post in 4 years! In my day gig I'm a design engineer of commercial lighting specializing in LED. Yes, I get to play with hot bright things all day and get paid for it.

I've been looking through many, many threads (gosh you guys are great machinists, programmers, fabricators and tinkerers...), and I think I'm going to throw a XR-E in one of my junky Mini Mags and see what happens.

I've used many different optics from many sources and one of the nicest I've seen is a new part from Khatod - the PL20808. It is SMALL, 15.6mm dia, 10.5mm high, and it snaps over the metal ring of the XR-E quite snugly. It is a very nice 8 degree spot with no nasty artifacts like die imaging, or circular striations.

So my question - Why don't you guys use optics?

ok,
erix

StarHalo

Flashaholic
I think I'm going to throw a XR-E in one of my junky Mini Mags and see what happens.

You can do it with a new reflector and regulator for only $20 here: http://www.batteryjunction.com/tle-5k2.html

So my question - Why don't you guys use optics?

The only optic-ed light I have is a TLE-300 drop-in for a Mag; the beam looks a bit like a giant multi-pointed star, but it's a unique profile being one giant hotspot with no spill. While it works well in this application, I wouldn't want it on an EDC, where a good spot/spill balance is important - most EDC lights that have optics don't do this well.

TLE300.jpg

Last edited:

nein166

Flashlight Enthusiast
The original Sandwich Shoppe Drop-in Sandwiches were designed to use an optic - NX05 I believe.
I put a optic in the MiniMag I made for my Dad.
I used a triple cree optic for a fish tank light I made.

Though optics project more light forward the increase in LED output these days compensates for losses in reflectors.

erix

Newly Enlightened
OK - I'm not the lone optic ranger here!

Spaghetti Cat! Your eerie silence and blank stare...
Can you fix your link for me?

ok,
erix

collector