need a good LED

PhilMac

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys,
I'm new to CPF and i'm looking for a good LED for huting/camping. I have been searching the forums and read a ton of reviews but there is just so much info some of which I don't understand. So if any of you guys can give me some good recommendations I would appreciate it. I'm kinda on a budget right now so price is important. I would like to keep it under 80 bucks or so. I would like a light with good throw and as many lumens as I can get as long as its got a decent run-time.

Thanks,
PhilMac

shaynster

Newly Enlightened
I'm no expert, but I just bought a Jetbeam Jet-III Military/LE and love it. In the past all I had was Surefire and for the money this one has better features. I bought it from www.bugoutgearusa.com. It cost around $75 and I got it in 2 days. I bought the OD green one and I'm thinking about a second one.

Shayn

shaynster

Newly Enlightened
Here's a picture.

blackforce_2067_0.jpg

old4570

Flashlight Enthusiast
What batteries do you want to run ?

This would be your first question ..

Rechargeable ? Supermarket / AA-AAA- C - D
Flashlight Dedicated ? 18650 - CR123A - 14500 - etc
Actual function of the light
Run time needed / 8 Hours / 20 Hours / 40 Hours

A small EDC may serve you well , lots of options , and the CR123A / 14500 can put out plenty of light , Some AA powered lights can serve you well , but Im not sure if any single AA light can compete with CR123A / 14500 .

Next would be 18650 or 2 x CR123A .

Then 2 x 18650 or 3 x 18650 [ Usually MC-E or SSC P7 ]

Under $80 USD

SO about $50 for the light $30 for batteries and charger .
Try Eagletac People seem to like them , + some are priced in your range with room for batts and charger .

PhilMac

Newly Enlightened
thanks for the info. i think i had rather go w/ the flashlight dedicated batts, from everything ive read they seem to be much better. i would prolly go w/ the rechargable batts

EagleAg

Newly Enlightened