Using a 500W Halogen worklight to keep ice off my car

jasonck08

Flashlight Enthusiast
So at my apartment, my car is about 20 feet outside my front door.

It's been getting pretty cold in the morning, but nothing insane. ~28-30F.

I've had ice on my car every morning this week. Today it was kind of thick. I had to go back inside and get a pan of cold water and then scrape the ice off.

Today I came up with a possible solution.

I bought a 500W Halogon worklight at home depot for $5.

I'm going to run an extension cord to my car with the light in it.

The light will be on a timer and will be set to turn on 20-30 minutes before I head out to work.

So the question is, do you think it will work, and do you think it will melt the ice in this amount of time, and keep my car warm? :crackup:

gsxrac

Enlightened
Hmm Heating glass that quickly could cause it to crack but im no expert since its not very much of a problem around here...

BlueBeam22

*Super Flashaholic*
I have one of those 500W halogen worklights too. It does indeed produce a lot of heat, however is a radiant heat and will heat objects that it is directed at. I would recommend against leaving the light inside your car as the metal bodies and glass lenses on these worklights become extremely hot.

Jash

Flashlight Enthusiast
Get an old beach towel or bed sheet and put that over your car windshield each night. Make sure the towel and your shield are dry. Hold it in place by closing the doors on it. If it's windy use some tape. In the morning you just walk out, lift off the towel and bingo, ice free windshield. Won't cost anything to run either.

greg_in_canada

Flashlight Enthusiast
It may work to melt the ice but I would worry more about it shifting and falling over. That could start your seats on fire.