Weapon Mounted Flashlight Help Needed

st.attila

Newly Enlightened
I'm a newbie to CPF and I'm seeking the combined knowledge of those here to help me solve a problem.

I wanted to add a hunting light to my .308 Win AR rifle (DPMS LR-308B).

I began by researching the various mounts available to use my Surefire Executive Elite E2e (HA/OD Finish). I settled on a VLTOR Scout Mount (SM-E) http://www.vltor.com/vltor-mountables.htm.

When it arrived, I read the documentation and it contained the following:

"Shock Isolation - A little bit about shock isolation. In the case of the Surefire classic series weapons lights the bezels are socked isolated to protect the bulb during recoil. In the G series of lights the plastic body serves as the shock isolator and has proven itself time and again. In the E series of lights they have no shock isolation protection. If you plan on using one on anything larger than a .223/5.56, your best option would be to use an L4 or one of their LED conversions. The LED has no filaments to break during recoil."

I immediately starting searching the Internet and found a great deal of good information here on CPF. I had just about decided to take the plunge on a Surefire KX2C LED head ($135) when I came across the post from Novanet (Re: KX2C complete light, dated 2-28-09) https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/211797. It directed me to a familiar place, Viking Tactics, but one I had overlooked for a lighting solution. I was focused on the mount. The Viking Tactics/Surefire L4 Light ($149.95) (http://www.vikingtactics.com/pop-vtac_surefire_L4.html) appeared to be exactly what I needed for only $15 more than the head.

Before I pulled the trigger on a purchase, I wrote Viking Tactics. This was their response: