Head-to-head comparisions of all lights.

CoyoteRed

Newly Enlightened
As a rank newbie here, I've looked around and I can't seem to find any kind of ranking, in terms of brightness, of the flashlights talked about here. I could have overlooked it, though, I know.

Here's my problem, being new to the light game I'm somewhat confused by some of the terms and it seems as though most have inside knowledge of what is what in terms of what's brighter than the rest.

For instance, the EverLED SE has been mentioned by one as slightly brighter than a stock 4D Mag, yet someone else says it's not because it heats up and self regulates. ???

Another issue (beside my proofreading skills) is the 2AA MiniMag conversions. How do these compare to a 4D Mag? See what I mean? I need real world comparisions to stock lights so I know what I can expect.

I've read this and that, but with some lights being messured in Lux, some in Lumens and yet others in Candle Power, add to that literature saying that you can't really convert between or the other... arrgg!

Personally, I'm not looking for night peircing brightness. My 4D Mag is fine, maybe a little brighter, but that's it. What I use it for, it's off and on. I don't need something that's going to ruin my night vision. I DO need to light up dark shadows inside stumps and other hard to light areas bright enough to overcome the difference of the outside on a bright day. (Did that make sense?) The 4D Mag does this for me.

The reason I'm here is I recently handled a SF C3. I never knew these types of lights even existed. I sure loved the power of a 4D Mag in the package not much better than my 2AA MiniMag. The price tag was a little put-off, though.

If could have a relatively inexpensive package in the formfactor of a MiniMag that cast a smooth even 2'-3' spot at my feet that is as bright as a 4D mag and used NiMH (Alks if I had to), I'd be happy with that. Would the MadMax work for this?