Dorcy/Element AAA battery holder fix????

Farnsrocket

Newly Enlightened
OK, so I am a newbie here and tried searching but couldn't find any answers.
My Sams Club 2 pack of Element LED lights and my single Dorcy LED are identical. They all have this battery holder:

http://www.dorcydirect.com/p-243-41-4275-battery-holder-cartridge.aspx

Well, one of the battery holders broke into pieces for no apparent reason other than age. So I went to check my other two and sure enough, they are cracked and coming apart. :mad:

I tried to epoxy one together and failed. :mecry:

I found the link above and realized new ones are $1.00 apiece, but then I got to thinking, are these just gonna break again and again? :thinking:

Any input or advice would be appreciated!
Thanks!
Jon

ragweed

Enlightened
I sure hope my Metal gear battery holder dosn't have this happen! Mine is a clear plastic holder is yours? They might have improved them I hope. At only a buck its worth a try I guess.

Flying Turtle

Flashaholic
I think replacements would eventually crack too. Most of us flashlight crazies have gotten away from three battery lights, but there might be some better alternatives. Maybe try a search in the battery section.

Welcome to CPF, Farnsrocket.

Geoff

fixitman

Newly Enlightened
Hmm, guess I should check on element. Havent used it in a few years, but it was a good light, first light I ever owned that actually satisfied me. It was amazingly durable. Drop test? 30 feet a couple times, and 6-8 feet many, many times. Mine is so dinged up, there is hardly any anodizing left.
I have since moved on to other lights, but my element still holds a happy place in my heart.

Farnsrocket

Newly Enlightened
Thanks guys, and thanks Flying Turtle!
Yeah, I think the replacements will crack too.....maybe I can reinforce them when they are new, add some strategically placed epoxy or something like that........makes me mad. Oh well.

Thanks again! :thumbsup:

Quadrifoglio

Newly Enlightened