Surefire D3 LED conversion advice?

DARKSTAR 0844

Newly Enlightened
I have a SF D3 that i picked up for a great price and i want to convert it to LED. I have ZERO experience with modding lights. I want to convert it to an LED head with a high output, long throw drop in unit. Any ideas? links would be greatly appreciated.

csshih

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi Mike!

From what I know, the surefire D3 uses the standardized P60 Dropin!
you can just replace the little lamp assembly in there.. plug and play!
may I recommend you: malkoff dropins, nailbender dropins, or moddoo dropins?

throw is rather hard to achieve in such a small reflector though!

jslappa

Enlightened
I'm not going to give you links because I want you to do your research. But at the top of the page (directly to the Left of your screen name) type in all the keywords you see in the responses you get here. Just like was already said, you can use any drop-in that fits any P60 light like a 6P, 9P, C2, Z2, C3, Z3 etc. Some good keywords might be:

Nailbender P60
Malkoff M60
Malkoff M61
Moddoo dropin

If you are using 3 surefire batteries, you must be sure that the dropin can handle 9volts. If you want to use a dropin that only goes up to 8.4Volts, you'll either need to buy a dummy CR123, or use 2 x rechargeable 17500 batteries. You've got a TON of options for that light, and there is a TON of info to read up on. Have fun! Come back and tell us what you decided to do.

DARKSTAR 0844

Newly Enlightened
If i'm going to pack the extra length/weight of the longer body of this light, i want the advantages of the 3 123's. Will this limit avalibility of drop-in options?

csshih

Flashlight Enthusiast
will you be using rechargeable 123s, or standard primary 123s?
regardless, your offerings are more limited due to less dropins taking 9V (primary voltage) or (11.1V) rechargeable voltage.

make sure the dropin can take it!

there is, though, a standard surefire dropin you can use, called the P60L, 80 lumens, up to 9V?