Need advice for a 9AA configuration

Imon

Enlightened
So lately I've been thinking about ways I can increase the output from my Mag Charger and I had the idea of hooking up 12 NiMH AA together. 6 in series for 7.2V and 6 parallel to those in series (don't know how that would have worked out). Found that that I couldn't fit all 12 inside the body unless major boring was involved so I was thinking could you do with 9 AA or is that not possible.
I'm a bit new to this so I made a very crude diagram to depict what I was thinking about doing. The green ones were the ones I was going to connect in series and the blue ones parallel. So I humbly ask you battery gurus ... is my idea a dud.... (I can always fall back to a 6AA config). My Mag is currently running on a 6V 2.6AH NiCd

9aaConfig.jpg

Selectron

Newly Enlightened
No, you can't configure nine cells in that way - the series string of six cells will dump a high charge current into the parallel string of three, severely overcharging them, and if left connected for long enough, the weakest cell in the six-string would drain and then start to reverse its polarity, followed by the next weakest in the string, and the next.

Eventually it would all reach a state of equilibrium with the series string of three being wrecked by overcharging, and the weakest cells in the string of six being wrecked by the reverse-polarity charge which they would have received. It's a complete non-starter.

LuxLuthor

Flashaholic
While you can discharge NiMH cells that are in parallel, you cannot (for practical purposes) charge them in parallel.

Also, in your example you cannot put a 3s (3.6v) string in parallel with a 6s (7.2v) string. Your dilemna is one of the reasons I always avoided the MagCharger which is powered by 5 x 1/2D NiMH cells. Your best option is to find the highest mAh cells that are of decent brand.

Imon

Enlightened