Advice regarding RCR123's and 18650's.

Acid87

Enlightened
Hi all im fairly new to CPF but have been reading for some time,

I have been reading the horror stories regarding Lithium cells and although I value my face and hands I still feel the money saved from buying a steady stream of CR123 primaries may eventually buy me a new light.

I have read a number of the posts on the forums and find people like Mdocod give a lot of useful information so thanks for that.

My issue is I have a good few lights which use CR123's such as:

Single cell Nitecore SR3, 2 cell Surefire E2E G2 6P etc, 3 cell Surefire C3 and 4 cell Fenix TK30.
So you can see how this is chewing through the primary cells.

I have established using the 18650 cells would be better used in the TK30 so I will be purchasing a set of AW 18650's regardless for use in this light.

So firstly my question on these batteries is could they be used in a 2 cells CR123 light such as the SF E2E etc?

Secondly would It be worthwhile buying a set of RCR123's for use in the single cell lights and possibly the 2 cell lights?
I do NOT have any means with which to test these cells so would it be advisable to avoid the 18650's and RCR123's altogether?

Sorry if it seems I haven't done my research I assure you I have but am still rather apprehensive and somewhat scared of lithium cells.

On a side note I completely understand the dangers of batteries. As a few years ago I had a AAA cell vent in my eye thanks to a stupid relative who left a cell in an MP3 player on charge. After a long day at the hospital and all manner of sh*t poured into my eye to help I dont want to repeat this type of event.

Thanks in advance for any information.
Steven

nfetterly

Flashlight Enthusiast