How often do you really NEED a flashlight?

gadgetnut

Enlightened
I know a lot of people use them for work. I was an EMT on an ambulance full time for 6 years or so, and I used a 2AA Mini Mag quite often. I know other jobs require them too. What I'm talking about here is people who don't use them for work. I now work a Monday - Friday daytime office job. Other than hunting season and camping, I almost never NEED a flashlight. Oh sure, I can always make a reason.... but do I really need it? I guess that's the main reason I have trouble talking myself into a $urefire. I'd feel kinda silly spending $100 for a flashlight that would sit untouched for months sometimes. I know they are worth their price, I guess I just can't justify it for my own use.

Empath

Flashaholic
Even through the day, it becomes an extension of your sight in a fashion not too dissimilar to, bifocals or reading glasses. You don't need it all the time. Smoothing the contrast in a poorly lit area for detail, though, becomes second nature.

Size15's

Flashaholic
For my work, I've used a SureFire 5W Luxeon EDC flashlight three times this week. I guess this is typical. I use my EDC all the time because I have it. Kinda like you could go the whole day not looking at your wristwatch by looking at clocks, your mobile, asking etc etc, but you wear it so you may as well use it.

I use my SuperTool 200 Leatherman quite a lot for various things. I guess I don't have to avoid being in situations where I'd need a light or a blade or whatever.

Al

gadgetnut

Enlightened
[ QUOTE ]
Size15s said:
... I use my EDC all the time because I have it. Kinda like you could go the whole day not looking at your wristwatch by looking at clocks, your mobile, asking etc etc, but you wear it so you may as well use it.
Al