HELP PLEASE: Change Emitter In Fenix TK30, MC-E Advice?

TyJo

Flashlight Enthusiast
I was thinking about putting a warm emitter in my TK30, but I don't know how to mod. Just seeing how difficult/practical this would be, not sure if I want to do it. Here is a thread where the head was disassembled. I have no experience, but I am patient and meticulous... A few questions if anyone has the time...
How do you get the head apart, with strap wrenches (not sure if I want to heat it)?
How difficult would it be to put a warm MC-E in the TK30, and whats the best place to buy a warm MC-E?

I told myself I would never take my lights apart, but the more I think about a warm emitter in my TK30 the more I want to do it. I would rather do it myself if possible as well.

Last edited:

TyJo

Flashlight Enthusiast
Ok I think I want to do this, but I'm going to need help. How easy would it be for me to ruin my light permanently? If anyone could give me some instructions on how to do this that would be awesome. Specifically I am wondering about the following: thermal paste, soldering, which warm tint bin to use, which MCPCB to use, how to take the old emitter out, and how to put the new emitter in. Any information is greatly appreciated. Here is the site I was considering to buy from: http://www.cutter.com.au/products.php?cat=Cree+MCE+Multichip.
Thanks.

Last edited:

Walterk

Enlightened
I opened the bezel of my TK40, and replaced the MCE with a warm white.

Its easy.
Desolder the wires.
Gently pry te glued star loose from the aluminium.
Solder the wires to the Led.
Glue the star in place with thermal glue (not paste) and make sure the surfaces are clean and plane. Use some clampingforce for 24hrs while the glue sets.

Note: the TK40 has the 4 die's of the led wired in series. TK30 propably as well, as It is feeded by only two wires. You can check this by applying 6, 9 and 12v (in that order) to the contacts. For MCPCB; just buy the Led with PCB attached.