Looking for driver for 1st high power light

Wimbley

Newly Enlightened
Hi, I have a couple 10W LEDs to play with. I'd really like to use them in a case I have that fits a 3.6v li-ion battery. I've seen the LEDs demoed at 12v with a good heatsink, so I'd like a driver that can get me at least 10v from the 3.6 source. However, I'm new to shopping for such things, and so far I don't have remarkable confidence in anything I've found. Does anyone have a good driver they can recommend?

Thanks for the help.

Al Combs

Enlightened
Welcome to CPF!

What kind of 10 watt LED are you using? 12 volts to a single LED must have been with a buck regulator in the circuit, correct? A few more details about what you have and what you have in mind to do will get some helpful hints. A Cree XM-L 10 watt for example has a forward voltage low enough it works well with a linear regulator on a single Li-Ion. It says 6 volts max. But really that's too much heat. A single Li-Ion or 3*NiMH works great with an XM-L and that regulator.

The SST-50 is almost 20 watts. But the higher Vf means a single Li-Ion, between the battery voltage under load and a regulator's drop out voltage, doesn't have enough power to drive the LED to full power. Well maybe for the first 10% of the battery charge. Something like a TaskLED H6CC or H6Flex or a Der Wichtel 5 amp would be required for an SST-50. Neither of those works with a single Li-Ion though.

Wimbley

Newly Enlightened
I'm not sure what kind it is. But after looking over the Commonly Used LED Emitter Index thread, it looks closest to a large version of the Golden Dragon. Without the red diode though.

Al Combs

Enlightened