Why some new tactical XML flashlights do not accept RCR123's?

moerush04

Newly Enlightened
I have been looking at some of the new Tactical Flashlights out there which use the new XM-L LED and use 1x18650 or 2x CR123's. A lot, if not all of them specifically note DO NOT USE RCR123's. Why is this? The lights I am talking about are the Fenix TK15, Eagletac T20C2 and P20C2. I have been using the Eagletac T10LC2 for the past 2 years and love it! I can use RCR123's. I can keep a set in my light while a charged set is waiting for the ones in use to cut out. When that happens I throw in the charged ones in the light ,and dead ones on the charger and repeat the process. I would like to keep this routine. I have 18650's but they are not flat top. Another thing the lights mentioned above require. It is uneconomical for me to buy CR123's. Will it really make a difference if I use RCR's instead? If someone could explain why it is so critical? I would really appreciate it, Thanks in advance.
Dan

(I researched the forum for any possible duplicates but nothing that specifically addresses this. If it is out there, i apologize I was never really good at research, I had a tendency to fail research projects in school. )

Fusion_m8

Flashlight Enthusiast
Put simply and not getting technical: primarily because of the LED driver input requirements, the majority of affordable XM-L drivers do not accept voltages higher then 6.0v, they are manufactured that way due to the fact that it would be most economical to run high current LED lights off a single 18650 cell. For the LED driver to accept a wider voltage input range, the manufacturing costs jumps considerably.