McGizmo XR19 PD update------XPG19B PD

DaFABRICATA

Flashlight Enthusiast
Recently I was contacted to update a McGizmo XR19 PD. The owner wants max throw and brightness and was open to suggestions. He decided on a bright white XP-G. I've never used or worked on an XR19 before and had suggested a new heatsink while in there. The stock XR-E uses a small thin heatsink board that only make contact with an area roughly 2mm thick by 1.4mm that sits on a ledge inside the head.
I designed a new brass heatsink that has 11.25mm of surface contact area on the inside of the head. It is also bored for the 2mm X 10mm board the emitter is mounted on and followed by a larger bore for the McR19 XR reflector to sit down into essentially turning the reflector into an extension of the heatsink. The depth of the brass heatsink allowed me to mount the XP-G low enough to focus properly. Since there was now a gap between the emiter and reflector, the solder pads were visible and looked bad. To solve this some aluminum was drilled slightly larger than the dome on the XP-G and turned on the lathe to fit over the emitter. The disc is insanely thin and will be coated with thermal adhesive to provide isolation from the pads. The top of the disc will be sanded withnultra fine sandpaper and polished to help direct all those lumens out front, and to help it appear as part of the reflector while covering the solder pads. Glad I took the time to clean it up.

I'll update the thread when the light is completed , but was excited to share the current progress.

I've designed several new brass heatsinks recently and they will likely become the standard offering for all my emitte
r swaps in the future. Nothing wrong with Don's design, but with the newer emitters and driver running more power means more heat. These new heatsinks will help a lot with thermal management. My LS20.1B has the new brass heatsink and the heat gets conducted to the head noticably faster!!