AC Repair Guy

PackersNation

Newly Enlightened
As the title stated, the AC needed fixing. I noticed the tech had a solitare on his belt and I thought of my modest collection. I badly wanted to pull out my D25LC2 even on low and smoke the solitare, but I was hesitant. Next time I will take advantage of the opportunity to bring him into our crazy world.

Any comments and/or similar situations?

smokinbasser

Flashlight Enthusiast
Keep in mind what their service rate is and consider if tying him up at $60 or $75 an hour is in your best interests

ericjohn

Enlightened
I am an HVAC Tech by trade but I am currently not in practice. When I was working in that field, I carried several flashlights: 2 AAA Mini Maglites, and a Pewter 2D Maglite. I also used a Pelican Super Sabre Lite (Xenon) when crawling under houses. I had a 2AAA Mity Lite (diver's version) but it was stolen from me, though I could never prove it. I wouldn't have wanted one that used any specialty batteries, because I went through many batteries quite often. If a customer would have shown me one of those fancy hi-tech flashlights, I wouldn't have been offended or ashamed. Rather, I would have said "Nice light! Where can I get one of those?" Then I would have shot the bull with him/her for a little while when the job was complete.

Erik1213

Enlightened
I had to have some (beyond my capability at the time) repairs performed on my AC system two weeks ago. While it was daylight outside, the issue was in the air handler in the crawl space under the house. I pulled out the Zebralight SC600w and lit the way, also held the light while he did the repair. I did get a "Man, that is bright" but nothing more. Oh well, I'm not going to push it on someone. He had a Streamlight headlight and small Stylus pro, which I have no issue with because that's what I used to keep too. Before I found out about the availability of neutral white LEDs, that is.

majorwoo

Newly Enlightened