Question: Sunwayman V10R v. Sunwayman V11R

Delkancott

Newly Enlightened
Forgive my ignorance, but with the exception of owning a couple of Fenix lights and a couple of Surefires, I'm a total newb to high-end candlepower. I did read *most* of selfbilt's review of the Sunwayman V11R and while it seems undoubtedly an improvement over the V10R, my concern is the initial cost, especially considering I would need buy 16340s and a charger.

So my questions are: is the V11R a 2x improvement of the V10R? Is it worth the extra $100 to buy a new setup (complete with 16340s) over a used v10R? Also, can the v10R be modded for high-output 500lumens like the V11R comes from the factory? Lastly, will the extender ring work on the V10R?

Thank you!

Oh, last question. If I opt for the V11R, what is a good battery to reach the 500 lumen mark? On batteryjunction all I see are 3.0v and 3.2v rechargeables, no 4.2. Thanks again.

Gunner12

Flashaholic
Li-ion batteries (3.7v ones) are 4.2v fully charged.

As for output, the V11R has a Cree XM-L instead of the XP-G, and I'm not sure if the driver pushes as much current as the V11R. You could get someone to swap in the XP-G2 and get a bit more output and throw. The V10R can also come with the XM-L emitter, and you'll be hard pressed to see a difference between 460 and 500 lumen.

The XM-L in the V11R means a wider hotspot and more powerful spill. It seems like the V11R has better knurling, but personally I like the styling of the V10A/V10R. I only own the V11R, so I don't have personal experience on the differences.

The batteryjunction page for the extender says it should work with the V10R as well.

If you are mainly going to use AA batteries, the V10A with the XM-L emitter might work better. A 14500 Li-ion battery should give you similar performance as the V10R XM-L and V11R XM-L with Li-ion batteries.

Delkancott

Newly Enlightened